The Queen Is Dead (1CD)
The Smiths

The Queen Is Dead (1CD)

Bestandseinheit: #0825646604852

Often cited as not only one of the most significant albums of the 80’s, but also The Smiths’ career, The Queen Is Dead became a quintessential and definitive album of the post-punk Rock genre.

6,99 €
Kundenbewertung 5 von 5

The Queen Is Dead is The Smiths’ great leap forward, taking the band to new musical and lyrical heights. The album is a harder rocking record than anything the band had attempted before. Johnny Marr has created here a wide range of guitar styles that provide a musical bed for Morrissey’s best set of lyrics which bred some of their finest, most affective songs, particularly “The Boy With the Thorn In His Side” and the epic “There Is a Light That Never Goes Out,” two masterpieces that provide the foundation for a remarkable album.

Receiving unanimous critical acclaim, NME listed The Queen Is Dead as the greatest album of all time in 2013, whilst Metacritic gave the album 99/100. Many reviewers including Rolling Stone praised the satirical social commentary of Morrissey’s lyrics, and complemented the Marr’s “witty, supple music“.


  1. The Queen Is Dead
  2. Frankly, Mr. Shankly
  3. I Know It's Over         
  4. Never Had No One Ever         
  5. Cemetry Gates           
  6. Bigmouth Strikes Again
  7. The Boy With The Thorn In His Side  
  8. Vicar In A Tutu
  9. There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
  10. Some Girls Are Bigger Than Others