The Sound of the Smiths (1CD)
The Smiths

The Sound of the Smiths (1CD)

Bestandseinheit: #0825646937097

The Sound of The Smiths is the definitive compilation of British independent band The Smiths.

6,99 €
Kundenbewertung 3,1 von 5

The Sound of The Smiths is a compilation of the definitive British independent band of the eighties. Produced with the full co-operation of Morrissey and Johnny Marr - Morrissey provided the title and Johnny Marr personally supervised the mastering, their joint involvement ensuring that this is the most impactful look back at the Smiths' extraordinary career to date.

The Sound Of The Smiths comprises 23 tracks and presents all the Smiths' memorable single releases, reinstating singles that were scheduled though eventually unreleased in that form ("Still Ill" and "You Just Haven't Earned It Yet Baby") plus European only singles including "Barbarism Begins At Home" and "The Headmaster Ritual". The core of the collection is that matchless run of singles from their first Rough Trade 7 inch "Hand In Glove" to the posthumous "Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me". The collection includes genuine classic hits such as "Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now", "How Soon Is Now", "Panic" and "Girlfriend in A Coma" which marked the pinnacle of that unique creative collaboration between vocalist Morrissey and guitarist Johnny Marr. Indeed, Morrissey's eloquence and proselytising was always matched by the compelling musicianship of Marr, bassist Andy Rourke and drummer Mike Joyce.

The album charted at No. 21 in the UK Album Charts and has since gone on to be certified Gold in the UK.


  1. Hand in Glove
  2. This Charming Man
  3. What Difference Does It Make? (BBC Peel Session Version)
  4. Still III
  5. Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now
  6. William It Was Really Nothing
  7. How Soon Is Now?
  8. Nowhere Fast
  9. Shakespeare's Sister
  10. Barbarism Begins At Home (7' Version)
  11. That Joke Isn't Funny Anymore
  12. The Headmaster Ritual
  13. The Boys With The Thorn In His Side
  14. Bigmouth Strikes Again
  15. There Is a Light That Never Goes Out
  16. Panic
  17. Ask
  18. You Just Haven't Earned It Yet Baby
  19. Shoplifters of the World Unite
  20. Sheila Take a Bow
  21. Girlfriend in a Coma
  22. I Started Something I Couldn't Finish
  23. Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me