77-81 (LP Box)
Gang Of Four

77-81 (LP Box)

SKU: #0190295002114

Coming in 2021, Matador Records will release GANG OF FOUR: 77-81, a stunning, limited edition box set gathering Gang of Four’s influential early work.

€ 195,00
4.9 out of 5 Customer Rating
  • This item is currently not available

The box set contains Entertainment! and Solid Gold (both remastered from the original analog tapes), an exclusive singles LP, and an exclusive double LP of the never officially released Live at American Indian Center 1980. Additionally, the package includes two new badges, a C90 cassette tape compiling 26 never-before-issued outtakes, rarities and studio demos from Entertainment! and Solid Gold, and an epic 100-page, full-color handbound book.

The book details the history and legacy of the original Gang of Four with never before seen photos, contributions from surviving original band members, rare posters, ephemera, flyers, essays, artwork, liner notes and more. It also marks the first official publication of their lyrics.

Gang of Four was formed in Leeds in 1976 by bassist Dave Allen, drummer Hugo Burnham, guitarist Andy Gill, and singer Jon King. The band pioneered a style of music that inverted punk’s blunt and explosive energies — favoring tense rhythms, percussive guitars, and lyrics that traded in Marxist theory and situationism. They put every element of the traditional “rock band” format to question, from notions of harmony and rhythm to presentation and performance.

This original lineup of the band released two monumental albums, Entertainment! (1979) and Solid Gold (1981). A third, Songs of the Free (1982), was recorded with bassist Sara Lee replacing Dave Allen. After Songs Of The Free, Burnham departed the band and Andy Gill and Jon King continued on to release Hard in 1983. After this release, the band broke up. In 2004, the original quartet reformed for tour dates and released Return The Gift (2005).

Gill’s untimely death in February 2020 was cause for many to once again re-examine the group’s catalog and the legacy of these early releases was widely cited. Not only did Gang of Four’s music speak to the generation of musicians, activists, writers, and visual artists that emerged in the group’s immediate wake, but the generation after that. And the generation after that, even.

In the last few years, their songs have continued to resonate with and been sampled by artists far afield from “post-punk,” including Run the Jewels (“The Ground Below”) and Frank Ocean (“Futura Free”). Now forty years since the original release of Entertainment!, Gang of Four’s legacy cannot be overstated.

Jon King unboxing the "Gang of Four 77-81" Box Set
Damaged Goods (Official Lyric Video)
Elevator (Demo)
Side A
  1. Ether
  2. Natural’s Not In It
  3. Not Great Men
  4. Damaged Goods
  5. Return The Gift
  6. Guns Before Butter
Side B
  1. I Found That Essence Rare
  2. Glass
  3. Contract
  4. At Home He’s A Tourist
  5. 5.45
  6. Love Like Anthrax
Side A
  1. Paralysed
  2. What We All Want
  3. If I Could Keep It For Myself
  4. Outside The Trains Don’t Run On Time
  5. Why Theory?
Side B
  1. Cheeseburger
  2. The Republic
  3. In The Ditch
  4. A Hole In The Wallet
  5. He’d Send In The Army
Side A
  1. To Hell With Poverty
  2. It’s Her Factory
  3. Armalite Rifle
Side B
  1. Capital (It Fails Us Now)
  2. History’s Bunk!
  3. Cheeseburger (Live) *
  4. What We All Want (Live) *
*Live at Hammersmith Palais
LP1 Side A
  1. Not Great Men
  2. Contract
  3. Outside The Trains Don’t Run On Time
  4. Damaged Goods
LP1 Side B
  1. He’d Send In The Army
  2. Guns Before Butter
  3. 5.45
LP2 Side A
  1. Anthrax
  2. It’s Her Factory
  3. Ether
  4. Natural’s Not In It
LP2 Side B
  1. At Home He’s A Tourist
  2. Rosanne
  3. Return The Gift
  4. Glass
i) Rehearsal Room – Leeds, 1977-78
  1. The Things You Do
  2. What You Ask For
  3. Armalite Rifle
  4. Love Like Anthrax
  5. Silence Is Not Useful
  6. Disco Sound
  7. Damaged Goods
  8. Elevator
ii) Cargo Demos – Cargo Studio, Rochdale
  1. Song One
  2. Song Two
iii) The Tapes – Polydor Studios, Jan 1978
  1. Essence Rare
  2. Tourist
  3. Return The Gift
  4. 5.45
  5. Corked Up With The Ether
From 5th January 1981 - (single track from cassette)
  1. Why Theory
  2. Cargo
  3. Trains
  4. Army
  5. Disco/Funk
  6. Dog’s Breath
  7. Asshole
  8. Cymbal
  9. Reverb
  10. Cheeseburger
  11. Ditch