The BBC Sessions 1984-1986 (1CD)
The Pogues

The BBC Sessions 1984-1986 (1CD)

SKU: #0190295266646

The BBC Sessions 1984 – 1986 compiles a number of electrifying performances by The Pogues at the BBC.

€ 9,99
5 out of 5 Customer Rating

Combining the spirit of Punk with traditional Irish Folk music, The Pogues were one of the most radical bands of the 1980s. Their instantly recognizable and politically tinged music helped them achieve 5 consecutive top 20 albums in the UK as well as producing the hit single Fairytale of New York which is widely regarded as the greatest Christmas song of all time.The Pogues The BBC Sessions 1984 - 1986 is an extensive collection of BBC recordings from the band between 1984 and 1986 with 13 of the recordings previously unreleased apart from their initial airing (see* in tracklisting). This 23 track album features a collection of songs from six separate live sessions - The John Peel Show (April 1984), David Kid Jensen show (July 1984), The John Peel Show (December 1984), The Phil Kennedy Show (March 1985), the Janice Long Show (July 1985) and the Janice Long Show (November 1986).

Broadcast 17/4/84 (as Pogue Mahone) - The John Peel Show


1)      Streams Of Whiskey*

2)      Greenland Whale Fisheries*

3)      Boys From The County Hell*

4)      The Auld Triangle


Broadcast 9th July 1984 - David ‘Kid’ Jensen


5)      Dingle Regatta*

6)      Poor Paddy On The Railway

7)      Boys From The County Hell

8)      Connemara, Let’s Go*


Broadcast 12th December 1984 - John Peel Show


9)      Whiskey You’re The Devil*

10)    Navigator*

11)    Sally MacLennane

12)    Danny Boy


Broadcast 2nd March 1985 - The Phil Kennedy Show


13)    A Pair Of Brown Eyes*

14)    Muirshin Durkin*

15)    Sally MacLennane*

Broadcast 11th July 1985 - Janice Long Show


16)    Wild Cats Of Kilkenny*

17)    Billy’s Bones

18)    The Old Main Drag

19)    Dirty Old Town*


Broadcast 5th November 1986 - Janice Long Show


20)    If I Should Fall From Grace With God

21)    Lullaby Of London*

22)    The Rake At The Gates Of Hell

23)    Turkish Song Of The Damned