Delicate Sound of Thunder Deluxe 2CD/Blu-ray/DVD Box Set
Pink Floyd

Delicate Sound of Thunder Deluxe 2CD/Blu-ray/DVD Box Set

Bestandseinheit: #0190295215927

Delicate Sound of Thunder Deluxe 2CD/Blu-ray/DVD Box Set

4-Disc Deluxe Box

Includes 2-CD (23 songs), Blu-ray (21 songs inc. 5 bonus tracks), DVD (21 songs inc. 5 bonus tracks), 40-page booklet, double sided poster, 5 postcards

Blu-ray/DVD re-edited from the original restored 35mm footage

2-CD remixed from the original master tapes. Features 8 songs not included on the original CD release.

59,99 €
Kundenbewertung 4,7 von 5

Delicate Sound Of Thunder encapsulates a band at their best. Alongside the classic live album and full concert film (restored and re-edited from the original 35mm film and enhanced with 5.1 surround sound), included in The Later Years box set, all stand-alone editions feature 24-page photo booklets.

In 1987, Pink Floyd made a triumphant resurgence. The legendary British band, formed in 1967, had suffered the loss of two co-founders: keyboardist / vocalist Richard Wright, who left after sessions for The Wall in 1979, and bass player and lyricist Roger Waters, who had left to go solo in 1985, soon after the 1983 album The Final Cut. The gauntlet was thus laid down for guitarist/singer David Gilmour and drummer Nick Mason, who proceeded to create the multi-platinum A Momentary Lapse Of Reason album, a global chart smash, which also saw the return of Richard Wright to the fold.

Originally released in September 1987, A Momentary Lapse Of Reason was quickly embraced by fans worldwide, who flocked to attend the live tour dates, which started within days of the album’s release. The tour played to more than 4.25 million fans over more than two years, and, as a celebration of the enduring talent and global appeal of Pink Floyd was unsurpassed at the time.

Filmed at Long Island’s Nassau Coliseum in August 1988 and directed by Wayne Isham, the 2020 release of the Grammy Award nominated Delicate Sound Of Thunder is sourced directly from over 100 cans of original 35mm negatives, painstakingly restored and transferred to 4K, and completely re-edited by Benny Trickett from the restored and upgraded footage, under the creative direction of Aubrey Powell/Hipgnosis. Similarly, the sound was completely remixed from the original multitrack tapes by longtime Pink Floyd engineer Andy Jackson with David Gilmour, assisted by Damon Iddins.

Pink Floyd’s stellar supporting cast for the live dates included: Jon Carin (Keyboards, Vocals), Tim Renwick (Guitars, Vocals), Guy Pratt (Bass, Vocals), Gary Wallis (Percussion), Scott Page (Saxophones, Guitar), Margret Taylor (Backing Vocals), Rachel Fury (Backing Vocals) and Durga McBroom (Backing Vocals).

Technical credits include: Film Producers: Curt Marvis and Carl Wyant; Director of Photography: Marc Reshovsky; Lighting Designer: Marc Brickman, with conceptual footage directed by Storm Thorgerson, except ‘Money’ directed by Storm Thorgerson, Barry Chattington and Peter Medak. Animation on 'Time' was by Ian Emes.

The setlist carefully balances the then-new material from A Momentary Lapse Of Reason and Pink Floyd classics, including songs from The Dark Side Of The Moon (Time, On The Run, The Great Gig In The Sky and Us And Them), the anthemic title track of Wish You Were Here, The Wall's Comfortably Numb and a cathartic Run Like Hell. Pink Floyd’s Delicate Sound of Thunder still stands as a record of the creative power of David Gilmour, Nick Mason and Richard Wright at their incendiary best.

CD Disc 1 (Part 1)

  1. Shine On You Crazy Diamond Parts 1-5
  2. Signs Of Life*
  3. Learning To Fly
  4. Yet Another Movie
  5. Round And Around
  6. A New Machine Part 1*
  7. Terminal Frost*
  8. A New Machine Part 2*
  9. Sorrow
  10. The Dogs Of War
  11. On The Turning Away

CD Disc 2 (Part 2)

  1. One Of These Days
  2. Time
  3. On The Run*
  4. The Great Gig In The Sky*
  5. Wish You Were Here
  6. Welcome To The Machine*
  7. Us And Them
  8. Money
  9. Another Brick In The Wall Part 2
  10. Comfortably Numb
  11. One Slip*
  12. Run Like Hell

Blu-ray and DVD

Blu-ray - Stereo Pcm 96/24, 5.1 Dts Master Audio (96/24)

DVD - Stereo Pcm (48/16), 5.1 Dolby Digital (48/16), 5.1 Dts (48/16)

  1. Shine On You Crazy Diamond Parts 1-5
  2. Signs Of Life
  3. Learning To Fly
  4. Sorrow
  5. The Dogs Of War
  6. On The Turning Away
  7. One Of These Days
  8. Time
  9. On The Run
  10. The Great Gig In The Sky
  11. Wish You Were Here
  12. Us And Them
  13. Money
  14. Comfortably Numb
  15. One Slip
  16. Run Like Hell

Bonus Tracks

Blu-Ray: Stereo Pcm 96/24 / Dvd: Stereo Pcm 48/16

  1. Yet Another Movie
  2. Round And Around
  3. A New Machine Part 1
  4. Terminal Frost
  5. A New Machine Part 2