Music From The Motion Picture "Gimme Danger" (1CD)
Various Artists

Music From The Motion Picture "Gimme Danger" (1CD)

SKU: #0081227941178

Soundtrack to the 2016 American documentary film directed by Jim Jarmusch about the band the Stooges.

5 out of 5 Customer Rating

When it comes to The Stooges’ place in rock history, there’s more or less a consensus among rock critics – or as close to a consensus as you’re ever going to get with rock critics, anyway – that they’re among the greatest rock bands of all time.

As such, if a director was going to put together a documentary – or “rockumentary,” if you will – about the life and times of The Stooges, one would hope that it would prove to be as memorable and historic as the band itself. Given that Jim Jarmusch’s Gimme Danger currently sits with a 94% rating on, it would seem that the film has delivered exactly what Stooges fans wanted, and you may rest assured that the soundtrack succeeds equally well.

With songs selected by Jarmusch and Iggy Pop himself, the soundtrack focuses on tracks from The Stooges’ first three studio albums, along with a few songs by Iggy’s pre-Stooges bands The Iguanas (“Again and Again”) and Prime Movers Blues Band (“I’m a Man”) as well as the MC5’s classic “Ramblin’ Rose.” It’s a great compilation, and if you’ve never owned a Stooges album, it’s also the perfect gateway drug into their catalogue.

  1. The Stooges – Gimme Danger (Bowie Mix)
  2. The Stooges – No Fun
  3. The Stooges – I Wanna Be Your Dog
  4. The Stooges – 1969
  5. The Stooges – Little Doll
  6. The Stooges – Down In The Street
  7. The Stooges – Loose
  8. The Stooges – I Got A Right (Outtake)
  9. The Stooges – I'm Sick Of You (Outake)
  10. MC5 –  Ramblin' Rose
  11. The Iguanas –  Again And Again
  12. The Prime Movers Blues Band – I'm A Man
  13. The Stooges – Lost In The Future (Outtake)
  14. The Stooges – Asthma Attack (Outtake)