Silence Is Easy (20th Anniversary Edition) [2CD Deluxe]

Silence Is Easy (20th Anniversary Edition) [2CD Deluxe]

SKU: #5054197710711
3.3 out of 5 Customer Rating

Starsailor’s second album Silence Is Easy was originally released in September 2003 after the whirlwind success of their debut album Love Is Here a mere 2 years earlier.

The 20th Anniversary Edition of Silence is Easy will be available on 2CD, replete with hugely collectable and exclusive Spector demos of Fidelity and White Dove. It also brings together key remixes of Four To The Floor (Thin White Duke and Soulsavers) as well as rare live versions of Silence Is Easy and Four To The Floor from London’s Somerset House and The Coronet.

The LP, deleted over a decade ago, now boasts a limited edition turquoise blue vinyl of the original track listing from 2003.

As Walsh explains “...they say you have years to write your debut album and the blink of an eye to make the follow up. Whilst that’s true of ‘Silence Is Easy’ we certainly packed a lot into the period between albums & our lives changed immeasurably giving us a lot of experience to go into it. Not least the sometimes challenging, often exciting recording of the album itself…

Its creation saw the band cross brief production paths with the legendary Phil Spector, his last production before his well publicized exit from public life. The perhaps uneasy alliance did however gift the album the masterful Silence Is Easy and stunningly beautiful White Dove.

Walsh continues “...It was amazing to follow in the footsteps of The Beatles & countless others recordings at Abbey Road. Initially it was an honour to work with the producer Phil Spector but subsequent events have put a dark cloud around that and make it a tricky subject to dwell on too much…”

The band co-produced seven of the remaining eight tracks with Elbow, Coldplay and Doves producer, Danton Supple. John Leckie (The Stone Roses & Radiohead) produced Shark Food to complete. Silence Is Easy reached Number Two in the UK on release.

The third single from the album, Four to the Floor, was also remixed by Thin White Duke (Stuart Price), and became a massive club hit across UK and Europe, reaching Number One in France.

Walsh explains “...whilst the title track ‘Silence Is Easy’ gave us our second top ten single and highest charting (No.9) it was ‘Four To The Floor’ that really changed our lives. The original track was well received around the world but it was Stuart Price’s legendary remix that took it to another level. No1 in France,Top 5 in Australia & Belgium culminating in an appearance at the Stade de France supporting U2 whilst the song was still flying high in the charts…”


1. Music Was Saved

2. Fidelity

3. Some of Us

4. Silence Is Easy

5. Telling Them

6. Shark Food

7. Bring My Love

8. White Dove

9. Four to the Floor

10. Born Again

11. Restless Heart


CD 2

1. White Dove (Demo Version)

2. At the End of a Show

3. She Understands

4. Could You Be Mine?

5. A Message

6. Four to the Floor (Soulsavers Mix)

7. Four to the Floor (Thin White Duke Mix)

8. Four to the Floor (Live at Somerset House, 2nd August, 2005)

9. Silence Is Easy (Live at Somerset House, 2nd August, 2005)

10. Silence Is Easy (Live at Coronet, 27th May, 2004)

11. Born Again (Phil Spector Demo)

12. Fidelity (Phil Spector Demo)