Ziggy Stardust and The Spiders From Mars: The Motion Picture Soundtrack [2CD]
David Bowie

Ziggy Stardust and The Spiders From Mars: The Motion Picture Soundtrack [2CD]

SKU: #5054197561139

50th Anniversary Edition

David Bowie retired Ziggy Stardust, his most famous alter-ego, in front of 5000 stunned fans at London’s Hammersmith Odeon. Now, the fully restored film and soundtrack will be released for the first time for the 50th anniversary of the show.

5 out of 5 Customer Rating

Celebrating the legendary final Ziggy Stardust show with brand new remastered versions available on 2CD+Blu-ray, 2CD, and 2LP limited edition gold vinyl.

Renowned filmmaker D.A. Pennebaker (Monterey Pop, Bob Dylan - Don’t Look Back, Depeche Mode - 101) captured the momentous event by filming Bowie and The Spiders From Mars backstage and onstage. The digital restoration of the new version of the film has been overseen by his son, Frazer Pennebaker with remastered audio. 

Although filmed 50 years ago, the film was not widely seen for over a decade. However, the film and its soundtrack have been newly remastered with the medley of ‘The Jean Genie/Love Me Do’ medley and ‘Round And Round’ featuring the late legendary Jeff Beck reinstated - the latter track making its very first appearance anywhere. Both performances were newly mixed by long-time Bowie collaborator Tony Visconti.

The show featured Bowie’s famous speech just before the final encore, ‘Rock ‘n’ Roll Suicide’, where he revealed that he was retiring the Ziggy Stardust persona. The shocking announcement came as a surprise to all in attendance – including members of his band and was the first proclamation of its kind in rock and roll.

Fifty years later, Ziggy will finally go global with a digitally restored version of Ziggy Stardust And The Spiders From Mars: The Motion Picture showing at over 1000 cinemas worldwide.

CD 1

  1. Part 1 Introduction (Incorporating: Beethoven Ninth Symphony (Arranged and Performed by Wendy Carlos)
  2. Hang On To Yourself
  3. Ziggy Stardust
  4. Watch That Man
  5. Wild Eyed Boy From Freecloud
  6. All The Young Dudes
  7. Oh! You Pretty Things
  8. Moonage Daydream
  9. Changes
  10. Space Oddity
  11. My Death

CD 2

  1. Part 2 Introduction (Incorporating: The William Tell Overture by Rossini) (Arranged and Performed by Wendy Carlos)
  2. Cracked Actor
  3. Time
  4. The Width Of A Circle
  5. Let’s Spend The Night Together
  6. Suffragette City
  7. White Light/White Heat
  8. Medley: The Jean Genie / Love Me Do / The Jean Genie (feat. Jeff Beck)
  9. Round And Round (feat. Jeff Beck)
  10. Farewell Speech
  11. Rock ‘n’ Roll Suicide (Finale: Pomp and Circumstance by Edward Elgar)